Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

snahmad75
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:32 pm

Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby snahmad75 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:27 pm

I need to get Active list of AccessPoint without lose client/station connection. I am running my ESP32 in
both modes STA and AP.
esp_wifi_set_mode(WIFI_MODE_APSTA)


See this link for more detail.

https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/issues/2497

Urgent reply please.


I have to stop client before start scan to avoid crash.

// Disconect before start scan. Fix crash.
ACDTRACEF(ES_NoError, "esp_wifi_disconnect\n");
ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_disconnect());
memset(wifi_manager_config_sta, 0x00, sizeof(wifi_config_t));

wifi_scan_config_t conf;
memset(&conf, 0, sizeof(conf));
conf.show_hidden = true;

ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_scan_start(&conf, true));

jcsbanks
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:03 pm

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby jcsbanks » Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:07 am

I end up disconnecting too and auto reloading the served webpage on a delay. Thing is, sometimes it works, but there seems no way to detect in the application whether it does or doesn't apart from perhaps doing ugly and unresponsive timeouts to see if you get a positive scan result within x time.

snahmad75
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:32 pm

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby snahmad75 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:43 pm

So, there is no solution to scan Access point to get list when we are connect to station AP without disconnect.

Ritesh
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby Ritesh » Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:37 pm

snahmad75 wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:27 pm
I need to get Active list of AccessPoint without lose client/station connection. I am running my ESP32 in
both modes STA and AP.
esp_wifi_set_mode(WIFI_MODE_APSTA)


See this link for more detail.

https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/issues/2497

Urgent reply please.


I have to stop client before start scan to avoid crash.

// Disconect before start scan. Fix crash.
ACDTRACEF(ES_NoError, "esp_wifi_disconnect\n");
ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_disconnect());
memset(wifi_manager_config_sta, 0x00, sizeof(wifi_config_t));

wifi_scan_config_t conf;
memset(&conf, 0, sizeof(conf));
conf.show_hidden = true;

ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_scan_start(&conf, true));
Hi,

The reason behind this is because device is sending beacons to each and every APP to get list of devices and that might be the reason to disconnect first before starting scanning of wifi.

Still, Please confirm with ESP32 IDF developers as well.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

snahmad75
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:32 pm

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby snahmad75 » Fri Feb 15, 2019 6:49 pm

Can some one reply. Is there possible solution that we can avoid when scan disconnect from my client/station access point.

Ritesh
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby Ritesh » Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:10 am

snahmad75 wrote:
Fri Feb 15, 2019 6:49 pm
Can some one reply. Is there possible solution that we can avoid when scan disconnect from my client/station access point.
Hi Espressif SDK Developer,

Would you please kindly look this issue in details and provide feedback for this? Can it be possible to continue connection while scanning for network?
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

kayleejacob1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 1:39 pm

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby kayleejacob1 » Sat Sep 26, 2020 2:03 pm

Was this solved or answered?

Ritesh
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby Ritesh » Mon Sep 28, 2020 9:33 am

kayleejacob1 wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 2:03 pm
Was this solved or answered?
I believe no any update since long time. so not answered yet? Are you facing same issue at your end? or do you have any solution for same?
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

kayleejacob1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 1:39 pm

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby kayleejacob1 » Mon Sep 28, 2020 5:37 pm

Need to look at available networks while connected.

hetal-mpc
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2023 8:35 am

Re: Scan AccessPoint list cause station/client disconnect

Postby hetal-mpc » Fri Feb 23, 2024 7:24 am

Facing same issue any response?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 120 guests