Uart and VESC motor controller

Nordlicht

Uart and VESC motor controller

Postby Nordlicht » Mon Mar 26, 2018 5:06 pm

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the ESP32, but I do have a lot of experience with the Arduino.
I want to read the UART data from the motorcontroller "VESC". The Creator of it even has a library for it, so it should be easy-peasy, am I right?
Thing is it sends data with a baudrate of 115200, which is too fast for software serials. And only very few Arduinos have a second hardware UART, thats what got me to the ESP32.

So this is his original vanilla Arduinocode:

Code: Select all

/*
/*
  Name:		VescUartSample.ino
  Created:	9/26/2015 10:12:38 PM
  Author:	AC
*/

// the setup function runs once when you press reset or power the board
// To use VescUartControl stand alone you need to define a config.h file, that should contain the Serial or you have to comment the line
// #include Config.h out in VescUart.h

//Include libraries copied from VESC
#include "VescUart.h"
#include "datatypes.h"

#define DEBUG
unsigned long count;

void setup() {

//Setup UART port
  Serial1.begin(115200);
#ifdef DEBUG
  //SEtup debug port
  Serial.begin(115200);
#endif
}

struct bldcMeasure measuredValues;

// the loop function runs over and over again until power down or reset
void loop() {
  //int len=0;
  //len = ReceiveUartMessage(message);
  //if (len > 0)
  //{
  //	len = PackSendPayload(message, len);
  //	len = 0;
  //}

if (VescUartGetValue(measuredValues)) {
    Serial.print("Loop: "); Serial.println(count++);
    SerialPrint(measuredValues);
  }
  else
  {
    Serial.println("Failed to get data!");
  }

}
And this is the Code I modified to work with ESP32s UART:

/*
  Name:    VescUartSample.ino
  Created: 9/26/2015 10:12:38 PM
  Author:  AC
*/

// the setup function runs once when you press reset or power the board
// To use VescUartControl stand alone you need to define a config.h file, that should contain the Serial or you have to comment the line