How to get a 4 / 8 MHz clock from PWM?

nockieboy

How to get a 4 / 8 MHz clock from PWM?

Postby nockieboy » Fri Sep 21, 2018 1:35 pm

Hi,

I'm extremely new to the ESP32 and micro-controllers in general. I'm using the Arduino IDE for the ESP32. Basically, all I want is an accurate 4 MHz or 8 MHz, 50% duty, clock signal from my ESP32.

I have followed several tutorials using LEDC to set up PWM signals for LED dimming etc. and, as best I can tell, the ESP32 should be more than capable of producing an 8 MHz PWM signal with up to 3-bit resolution - although I only need 50% duty, so I'm trying for a 1-bit resolution.

When I check the signal I'm getting on my oscilloscope, the results are definitely NOT 4 or 8 MHz clock signals. Either my code is wrong, or I'm really not reading my oscilloscope properly (which is entirely possible - it's a really old 'scope and I'm no electronics engineer). However, I thought I'd ask here to see if there's any issues with my code:

Code: Select all

// PWM vars
int freq = 1000000;   // 4 MHz frequency initially
int PWMChannel = 0;   // PWM channel
int resolution = 1;   // Only need 50% duty cycle, this should allow up to 40 MHz clock speed?
const int PWM_1 = 13;  // GPIO pin to use for PWM signal

void setup() {
  // Initialise PWM
  ledcSetup(PWMChannel, freq, resolution);
  ledcAttachPin(PWM_1, PWMChannel);

// Set PWM channel
  ledcWrite(PWMChannel, 1);
}
Elsewhere in the code, I have a couple of functions to change the frequency:

ledcSetup(PWMChannel, 2000000, resolution); // Seems to be come out at approx 7.2 MHz on the 'scope
And this one:

ledcSetup(PWMChannel, 1000000, resolution); // Very approximately 4 MHz
I arrived at frequencies of 1000000 and 2000000 for ledcSetup by experimentation. I'd assumed originally that 8000000 and 4000000 should have been the right ones to use?