ESP32 Wroom-2 and WiFi issues

feriar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:45 pm

ESP32 Wroom-2 and WiFi issues

Postby feriar » Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:50 pm

Hello ;)
I have problems with using Wi-Fi. I've uploaded this sketch Wifi-scan (basic sketch from Arduino libraries)

Code: Select all

#include "WiFi.h"

void setup()
{
    Serial.begin(115200);

    // Set WiFi to station mode and disconnect from an AP if it was previously connected
    WiFi.mode(WIFI_STA);
    WiFi.disconnect();
    delay(100);

    Serial.println("Setup done");
}

void loop()
{
    Serial.println("scan start");

    // WiFi.scanNetworks will return the number of networks found
    int n = WiFi.scanNetworks();
    Serial.println("scan done");
    if (n == 0) {
        Serial.println("no networks found");
    } else {
        Serial.print(n);
        Serial.println(" networks found");
        for (int i = 0; i < n; ++i) {
            // Print SSID and RSSI for each network found
            Serial.print(i + 1);
            Serial.print(": ");
            Serial.print(WiFi.SSID(i));
            Serial.print(" (");
            Serial.print(WiFi.RSSI(i));
            Serial.print(")");
            Serial.println((WiFi.encryptionType(i) == WIFI_AUTH_OPEN)?" ":"*");
            delay(10);
        }
    }
    Serial.println("");

    // Wait a bit before scanning again
    delay(5000);
}
and when i want to scan wifi i've getting error:
error.PNG
error.PNG (10.21 KiB) Viewed 7561 times
I was trying changing power source between FTDI breakout board and AA batteries with no luck. On power section i have 2x 100nF and 1x 47uF capacitors.
Any Ideas ?

ESP_igrr
Posts: 2067
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:37 am

Re: ESP32 Wroom-2 and WiFi issues

Postby ESP_igrr » Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:30 pm

This looks like the chip browning out when doing RF calibration, which drains a lot of current. Please try connecting a power supply capable at least of 500mA.

feriar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: ESP32 Wroom-2 and WiFi issues

Postby feriar » Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:47 pm

ESP_igrr wrote:This looks like the chip browning out when doing RF calibration, which drains a lot of current. Please try connecting a power supply capable at least of 500mA.
Jackpot ! I've changed the source to 18650 Li-ion and works like a charm :) Thank You for helping

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 83 guests