Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

samsam
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:26 pm

Re: Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

Postby samsam » Sun Jun 04, 2017 6:18 pm

ESP_Sprite wrote:The 12mA *is* the maximum amount of current you can safely pull from the ESP32 [2]. A real chip actually can deliver much more: .....
If this is true (and I give you the credit as it seems reasonable) then the spec sheet need to be fixed ASAP as it is quite misleading with this 80mA in the last edition. Unfortunately I cant search it to see if the 12mA still stay somewhere in the text :(
I was prepared to ask those 80mA are they per pin or per domain, but fortunately found this posting, so it gives some light on the situation.
Anyway I'd suggest your major points from your post have to find place in the official ESP32 datasheet (or at least in the manual), and also I think have to be set there in the data sheet what is the maximum current per domain or for the all GPIO's together, and if there is difference in sink and sourcing current....Thanks

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 2069
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Mon Jun 05, 2017 1:12 am

Yep. If I didn't find this out at the start of the weekend,the 80mA value would already be gone by now.

Willie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 3:32 am

Re: Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

Postby Willie » Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:55 am

I use gpio_pad_set_drv to change pin drive current has the change, but the change of the current volume is very small...

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 2069
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:12 am

What is the setup you're using to measure that?

User avatar
rudi ;-)
Posts: 1259
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

Postby rudi ;-) » Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:08 pm

hi

back to the question
since 2017 june 9 the datasheet of ESP32 speaks from ~5 mA ( before ~10 mA )
the ~80 mA is remove now.

( if we search - we find not the search text - if we copy a text from it - it does not have the letters from the seeing text )
example text in the pdf "~40 mA" is then "~:6 wH" )
2017_june_9_datasheet_esp32.jpg
2017_june_9_datasheet_esp32.jpg (36.05 KiB) Viewed 1397 times
best wishes
rudi ;-)
-------------------------------------
love it, change it or leave it.
-------------------------------------
問候飛出去的朋友遍全球魯迪

anakyr
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:09 pm

Re: Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

Postby anakyr » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:56 am

Hi,

I read the previous posts but I think they still are not quite clear.
So the version of ESP32 now is using the 5,10,20,40 mA levels?
Apart from that, this current is the total current the CPU supplies to all the pins? Meaning that in each pin the current is much lower, if more than one pins are used at the same time?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 2069
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Can the output current of the esp32 GPIO be reduced?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Sat Oct 13, 2018 3:59 am

No, it's 40mA per pin. Worst case scenario, you can indeed have a situation where you pull 40mA from all pins - while we haven't done any exhaustive testing, a quick test on a few room temperature ESP32s does indicate it keeps on working if you do this. (See the datasheet, section 5.1) And yes, this means the chip uses 4 watts or so in that scenario - I was pretty surprised it happily survived that as well.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests