ESP32 DMA for GPIO operations

Vilius

ESP32 DMA for GPIO operations

Postby Vilius » Mon Nov 20, 2023 10:08 am

Hi,

I am doing an application that involves fast GPIO operations. DMA is just the right thing for me to save a couple of CPU cycles...
I tried to search for examples on github and ask chatgpt (it wrote some DMA code for me, but it used non existant include libraries...), but it did not help. Datasheet does not tell much as well (there are many various register and command names, but there is no chapter on how to configure a proper setup.) Can you please provide a very simple example how to read a GPIO pin and store its value in the memory via DMA (or an information source of such example)? Since I am new to ESP32, having this simple example I hope I can adapt it to my own needs. Thank you in advance.

mikemoy

Re: ESP32 DMA for GPIO operations

Postby mikemoy » Mon Nov 20, 2023 10:55 pm

I ask AI to do the same, but I dont see anything wrong with the includes.

Code: Select all

#include <stdio.h>
#include "esp_system.h"
#include "driver/gpio.h"
#include "esp_log.h"
#include "esp_err.h"
#include "freertos/FreeRTOS.h"
#include "freertos/task.h"
#include "esp_timer.h"

#define TAG "GPIO_DMA"

// Configuration for GPIO pin
#define GPIO_PIN        25
#define GPIO_PIN_SEL    (1ULL << GPIO_PIN)

// Configuration for DMA
#define DMA_CHANNEL     0
#define DMA_BUF_SIZE    64

// DMA buffer
uint8_t dma_buffer[DMA_BUF_SIZE];

// DMA interrupt handler
void IRAM_ATTR dma_isr(void* arg)
{
    // Handle DMA transfer completion here
    // You can process the data in dma_buffer
}

void app_main()
{
    // Initialize GPIO
    gpio_config_t io_conf;
    io_conf.intr_type = GPIO_PIN_INTR_DISABLE;
    io_conf.mode = GPIO_MODE_INPUT;
    io_conf.pin_bit_mask = GPIO_PIN_SEL;
    io_conf.pull_down_en = 0;
    io_conf.pull_up_en = 0;
    gpio_config(&io_conf);

// Initialize DMA
    dma_chan_config_t dma_config = {
        .channel = DMA_CHANNEL,
        .owner = DMA_PERIPH,